26 countries abstained from the vote, including Serbia and Turkmenistan, while 24 countries supported the initiative and six voted against it.

France, Sweden, Slovenia, India, Argentina, and Togo at first were going to vote for the resolution, but they were convinced to abstain from voting at the end.

The US, UK, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Estonia, and Germany voted against the Palestinian-backed resolution.